Willie Duggan R.I.P.

Talk about the men in white, and everything Ulster!!

Moderator: Moderators

striker
Novice

Willie Duggan R.I.P.

Post by striker »

rocky
Red Hand Ambassador

Re: Willie Duggan R.I.P.

Post by rocky »

Yes, very sorry to hear this. A great player, a lovely man and a real character. Apparently, when he was picked for the Lions tour, which lasted nearly four months in those days, his wife said to him, "Willie, will you be faithful to me for all that time?", to which he replied, "Mary dear, I'm an electrician, not a feckin' prophet!"
Bo***cks to Brexit
ding dong2u
Red Hand Ambassador

Post by ding dong2u »

Very sad news ..... they didn't make them much tougher than Willie
Stand Up for the Ulster Men

RIP Nevin Spence 1990 - 2012
Tighty
Initiate

Post by Tighty »

sad news indeed; he was a great player!!
BaggyTrousers
Rí­ na Cúige Uladh

Post by BaggyTrousers »

Sorry to hear this news. Willie famously wasn't fond of training but was just naturally a tight hard nut. I once came across Willie, Moss Keane, Fergus Slattery and if memory serves, our Harry Steel in a bar in Paris having the pints. Thing is it was the night before the game which probably indicated the likelihood of winning...we didn't.

I remember Willie and Wales 2nd row Geoff Wheel being the first men sent off in the 5Nations. Wheel had been trying to rough up Ronnie Hakin who was if not on debut damned close to it. Willie took exception and gave Wheel a good dig in the bake and off the 2 went.

Willie was a superb no8. Never given the sort of recognition that Mervyn Davies had around that time but just as important to Ireland in his own way. I'm not an orange bar steward, so RIP Willie ya legend.
Last edited by BaggyTrousers on Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:43 am, edited 1 time in total.